Hong Kong Tsz Shan Monastery (慈山寺)

Photo essay

Shirley Lee
13 min readDec 14, 2023
All photos by the author unless otherwise specified

The construction of Hong Kong Tsz Shan Monastery was funded by a guy who’s famous for being rich in Hong Kong. The guy also happened to be a devout Buddhist, and he wanted a tranquil Buddhist location for people to learn about Buddhism and quiet the mind.

After he promised everyone that he wouldn’t turn this Buddhist place into a Buddhaland for tourists, the whole project was green-lighted in 2003 and was completed in 2015. The place is best known for having a giant white Guan Yin (Avalokiteśvara) statue.

The Guan Yin statue had been a part of my uni dorm view for three years, so I have always wanted to see what was actually there the whole time. Also, I studied in a Protestant elementary school and a Buddhist high school, so I have a soft spot for religion stuff.

View from my dorm, 2017

Since the monastery is not open to the public (unlike the Big Buddha in Lantau), a random person like me would need to book in advance for entry. You’d also need to figure out how to get there…

--

--