I Am Here To Prove That I Did Not Commit A Sex Crime

The Most Boring Place On Earth

Shirley Lee
13 min readApr 22, 2024
The sign outside the Sexual Conviction Record Check Office

I have never been sure what I am doing with my life, but I had accidentally written unnecessary long rants about the packaging of a bag of potato chips, the floor numbers of a shopping mall, and all of the signs in a supermarket. Having long rants over random things seems to be a part of my personality now.

Brett CB left this comment under one of my blog posts:

“You exploring seemingly mundane places needs to be a series! Would be fascinating to hear your take on what the Transport Department (assume this is the equivalent to the Registry of Motor Vehicles in the US?) looks and feels like.”

This place immediately comes to mind.

Welcome to:

Hong Kong’s Sexual Conviction Record Check Office.

Some Sex Record Check Q&A, Before We Begin

Why did you need to prove that you didn’t commit a sex crime?

I need to go work at a school.

In Hong Kong, if you are getting involved with “work relating to children or MIPs (mentally incapacitated persons)”, your employer may ask you for a piece of paper called “Sexual Conviction Record Check Result” from the police. The…

--

--