This Shopping Mall’s Design is So Bad, It Made Me Question Reality

Shirley Lee
9 min readApr 6, 2023
Source

You should be reading about AI.

You should be reading about fossil fuels.

But sometimes, you do need to experience a minor mental breakdown and get unreasonably outrageous over something utterly meaningless. For a chuckle. It’s good for your mental health.

That’s why you are going to read about a shopping mall I visited the other day.

What happened

My friends and I booked dinner at a restaurant on 28/F of this shopping mall. Yes. I am from Hong Kong. We don’t have much space, so things are pretty tall over here.

The mall is located at the city centre (Tsim Sha Tsui) and you can go right into the mall straight from the Tsim Sha Tsui train station (also called the MTR station). The mall has an entrance that connects to the station.

That evening, when I arrived, I texted my friends: Hey, I have just got from the MTR station to the mall. Where are you now?

They texted back: We are in a shop on 1/F. Come join us!

I checked which floor I was on.

I was on the Floor MTR. Or MTR/F. If that is a thing.

This floor labelling practice is obviously not normal, but it’s not unheard of…

--

--